The Living Waters documentary project is designed to encourage the community to be informed, to be aware and to take action. 

You are the eyes and the ears of the Harbour: act to protect it, volunteer to look after it and work to restore it. 
 

Useful Support Links
Below is a list of links to other websites that we have either found useful in the making of Living Waters or are a good general source of background information on the Porirua Harbour and its catchment. 


Local Iwi

Ngati Toa http://www.ngatitoa.iwi.nz/

 

Local & Regional Government

Porirua City Council http://www.pcc.govt.nz/

Greater Wellington Regional Council http://www.gw.govt.nz/

Wellington City Council http://www.wellington.govt.nz/

 

Wildlife Groups & Organisations

Guardians Of Pauatahanui Inlet http://www.gopi.org.nz/

Pauatahanui Inlet Community Trust http://www.pict.org.nz/

New Zealand Freshwater Sciences Society http://limsoc.rsnz.org/

Wriggle Coastal Management http://www.wriggle.co.nz/

Whitireia Park Restoration Group http://www.gw.govt.nz/whitireia-park-restoration-group-planting-day/

Trees for Survival http://www.tfsnz.org.nz/

Conservation Volunteers New Zealand http://www.conservationvolunteers.co.nz/

National Institute of Water & Atmospheric Research http://www.niwa.co.nz/

Department Of Conservation http://www.doc.govt.nz/

Forest & Bird http://www.forestandbird.org.nz/

World Wildlife Fund- Aotearoa http://www.wwf.org.nz/

 

Transport

New Zealand Transport Agency http://www.nzta.govt.nz/

Cycle Aware Wellington/ Cycling Advocates Network http://can.org.nz/wellington

 

The Built Environment

Sustainability Trust http://sustaintrust.org.nz/

Sustainable Habitat Challenge http://www.shac.org.nz/

Ecomatters Environment Trust http://ecomatters.org.nz/

Earth Building Association of New Zealand http://www.earthbuilding.org.nz/

Building Biology & Ecology Institute http://www.ecoprojects.co.nz/

Graeme North Architects http://www.ecodesign.co.nz/index.html

LiteHouse Sustainable Building http://www.ecodesign.co.nz/index.html

 

Recreation

Paremata Boating Club http://www.paremataboatingclub.org.nz/

Kapiti Boating Club http://www.kapitiboatingclub.org.nz/club/frameset.html

Waka Ama Aotearoa http://www.wakaama.co.nz/

Kapiti Photographic Society http://www.kcps.org.nz/

 

 

Waste

Keep Porirua Beautiful http://host.ourporirua.com/Default.aspx?alias=host.ourporirua.com/keepporiruabeautiful

Keep NZ Beautiful http://www.knzb.org.nz/

Trash Palace http://www.trashpalace.co.nz/

Love Your Coast http://www.loveyourcoast.org/

Sustainable Coastlines http://www.sustainablecoastlines.org/

 

Community Projects & Events

Creekfest Porirua http://www.ourporirua.com/News/tabid/82/ctl/ArticleView/mid/610/articleId/129/Default.aspx

Te Maara at Cornwall Community Garden- Porirua http://host.ourporirua.com/keepporiruabeautiful/AdoptaSpot/tabid/2494/language/en-US/Default.aspx

ReGeneration http://www.regeneration.org.nz/

Intersect http://we.intersect.org.nz/

Enviroschools http://www.enviroschools.org.nz/

Inspiring Stories http://www.inspiringstories.org.nz/

 

Information & Resources

Te Ara - Encyclopedia of New Zealand http://www.teara.govt.nz/

New Zealand History Online http://www.nzhistory.net.nz/

New Zealand Film Archive http://www.filmarchive.org.nz/

NZ On Screen http://www.nzonscreen.com/

Greening The Screen http://www.greeningthescreen.co.nz/

Permaculture New Zealand http://www.greeningthescreen.co.nz/

EcoBob http://www.ecobob.co.nz/

Porirua Hospital Museum http://www.poriruahospitalmuseum.org.nz/

Sustainable Business Network http://www.sustainable.org.nz/

 

Good NZ book on life in estuaries - put out by Canterbury University Press

http://www.cup.canterbury.ac.nz/catalogue/catalogue_author_i-m.shtml

 

NIWA info pages on estuaries (lots are from Mal Green) and report

http://www.niwa.co.nz/education-and-training/schools/students/estuaries

http://www.niwa.co.nz/__data/assets/pdf_file/0016/51118/riskmap.pdf or http://www.niwa.co.nz/news-and-publications/publications/all/wa/10-4/estuaries

http://www.royalsociety.org.nz/publications/teaching/alpha/114/

http://www.niwa.co.nz/our-science/freshwater/tools/nzestuaries/life

http://www.niwa.co.nz/our-science/freshwater/tools/nzestuaries/ails

http://www.gw.govt.nz/assets/council-publications/Pauatahanui%20inlet%20effects%20of%20historical%20catchment%20landcover.pdf

http://www.niwa.co.nz/__data/assets/pdf_file/0004/41881/nzestuaries-full.pdf

 

Seagrass

http://www.niwa.co.nz/news-and-publications/publications/all/wa/15-1/seagrass

http://www.niwa.co.nz/our-science/coasts/research-projects/all/restoration-of-seagrass-beds-in-whangarei-harbour#null

http://tvnz.co.nz/national-news/fish-battling-survive-seagrass-decline-4010226/video - good video.

http://www.niwa.co.nz/news-and-publications/publications/all/wa/15-1/marine

 

PCC sites

http://pcc.govt.nz/About-Porirua/Porirua-s-heritage/Porirua-s-suburbs/Paremata--Papakowhai-and-Mana/Historic-site--Aotea-Lagoon

 

Kiwi Conservation Club http://www.kcc.org.nz/

Landcare Research http://www.landcareresearch.co.nz/

QEII National Trust http://www.openspace.org.nz/

Sustainable Living Education Trust http://www.sustainableliving.org.nz/Default.aspx